Indian PM Receives the Highest Civilian Award From Russia

Highest Civilian Award From Russia
Image Credits: DNA India

After receiving six international awards, our prime minister is now being awarded his 7th one by Russia with the ‘Order of St Andrew the Apostle’ – the highest order of the Russian Federation, for outstanding services in encouraging and promoting the strategic partnership between the two nations. (India and Russia)  

Mr. Narendra Modi has been awarded the ‘Highest Civilian’ award by the Russian government. A Russian official while interacting with the media stated that the ‘Order of St Andrew the Apostle’ is awarded to esteemed personalities who work devotedly in the fields of science, art and culture and make their work exceptional which leads to bringing glory to Russia. The official also said that foreign personalities are also awarded for exceptional services.

PM Modi is one such personality who has strived towards building and maintaining a friendly relationship with Russia. Responding to this, Narendra Modi in his tweet thanked the Russian president, Vladimir Putin and the people of Russia. He also stated that the India-Russia relationship has a bright future.

The ‘Order of St Andrew the Apostle’ is the highest and oldest decoration of Russia. It was first launched in 1698 but was buried during the communist period and surfaced back in 1998. This decoration has till date been conferred to 18 people. Majority of them are Russians like former president Mikhail Gorbachev, and some foreign heads like China’s President Xi Jinping.

Receiving this International award especially from Russia has acted as a major booster for the BJP since the nation’s most important elections of Lok Sabha have begun. PM Narendra Modi has previously received other International award during his tenure.

Very recently, on 4th April, 2019, United Arab Emirates (UAE) awarded PM Modi the ‘Zayed Medal of UAE’ for his exceptional role in fostering the ties between two nations.  Other awards on the list are, Seoul Peace Prize 2018, UN Champions of the Earth Award 2018, Grand Collar of the State of Palestine, Amir Abdulla Khan Award of Afghanistan, and King Abdullaziz Sash Award of Saudi Arabia.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here